Have you heard about Dignitas Magazine?

Sisters Catherine and Abby Pelicano have joined forces and created online quarterly magazine Dignitas to bring a body positive magazine option into the market for women and girls.

Their motivation was seeing pictures of scantily clad women in the pages of popular women’s magazines while at the hairdressers.

“It made me feel I needed to look like this person, that the way I am is not good enough,” said Abby Pelicano, 25.

“And then reading all the little tag lines and catchy phrases … made me think that there was so much that I needed to possess to be modern and beautiful. And I didn’t like that feeling, and I knew that it conflicted with the way I was brought up.”

The pair believe that our natural beauty should be celebrated and have infused the magazine with Christian ethos.

Catherine Pelicano said that she hopes the magazine will inspire all girls and women to feel better about themselves, counter to what’s being promoted in high-fashion magazines and other mainstream media.

WordPress is having some problems allowing links and images to be embedded at the moment, but here are the urls for some places you might find interesting:

Check out Dignitas Magazine here: http://dignitasmagazine.com/

Check out a news article by Greenville Online here: http://www.greenvilleonline.com/article/20120718/NEWS/307180071/Sisters-seek-define-true-beauty?odyssey=tab%7Ctopnews%7Ctext%7CEasley/Powdersville

