Body positive playlist time!

It’s always a good time to get a new playlist and it’s even better if it’s one that makes you feel happy. I’ve put together a list of a few songs with body-positive and insightful lyrics. Enjoy!

Gone, by Jack Johnson and Ben Harper
This one has great lyrics pointing out that what is inside is far more important than what’s on the outside. It values the spirit, what we do and how we act far more than superficial objects and appearances.

“Well look at all those fancy clothes
But these could keep us warm
Just like those.
And what about your soul
Is it cold
Is it straight from the mould
And ready to be sold.

And cars and phones and diamond rings
Bling, bling
Those are only removable things
And what about your mind
Does it shine or
Are there things that concern you more
Than your time…”

Big girl (you are beautiful), by Mika
With lyrics like this how could it be anything but good?! The only part I don’t like is a short bit putting down skinny girls in preference of bigger girls. Now while bigger girls could use a bit of lyrics-lovin’ it shouldn’t be at the expense of skinny girls. The same girls for bigger girls when talking up skinny girls of course. But aside from this it’s a great song. 

“Walks in to the room
Feels like a big balloon
I said, ‘Hey girls you are beautiful’
Diet coke and a pizza please
Diet coke I’m on my knees
Screaming ‘Big girl you are beautiful’

I’m not your average girl, by India Aria
This is one about appreciating yourself and recognising your own unique beauty. It’s got a fun beat too. 

“Sometimes I shave my legs and sometimes I don’t
Sometimes I comb my hair and sometimes I won’t
Depend on how the wind blows I might even paint my toes
It really just depends on whatever feels good in my soul.

I’m not the average girl from your video
And I ain’t built like a supermodel
But I learned to love myself unconditionally
Because I am a queen.”

Free your mind, by En Vogue
This one is all about prejudice and freeing your mind from it. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover, don’t assume that you know someone simply because you can see them. We are all complex, we all have pain, we all know love and we all have a story to tell. 

“I wear tight clothing and high heeled shoes, that doesn’t mean that I’m a prostitute
I like rap music, wear hip-hop clothes
That doesn’t mean that I’m out sellin’ dope
Oh my forgive me for having straight hair
It doesn’t mean there’s another blood in my heirs
I might date another race or color
It doesn’t mean I don’t like my strong black brothers
Why, oh, why must it be this way?
Before you can read me you got to learn how to see me”

I am beautiful, by Christina Aguilera
The list wouldn’t be complete without this one! I love this one. It’s about showing that even the prettiest of girls and the most attractive of guys get insecure about their appearance just like the rest of us. 

“I am beautiful no matter what they say
Words can’t bring me down
I am beautiful in every single way
Yes, words can’t bring me down
So don’t you bring me down today”

More beautiful you, by Jonny Diaz
This has got to be my favourite one. I only found this one recently and it is brilliant. The lyrics deliver comfort and a lesson that what’s inside is important. I also love that it targets girls at both the start of their teen years, and at 21 when they’re just winding up. AMAZING LYRICS!!!

“Little girl fourteen flipping through a magazine
Says she wants to look that way
But her hair isn’t straight her body isn’t fake
And she’s always felt overweight

Well little girl fourteen I wish that you could see
That beauty is within your heart
And you were made with such care your skin your body and your hair
Are perfect just the way they are

There could never be a more beautiful you
Don’t buy the lies disguises and hoops they make you jump through
You were made to fill a purpose that only you could do
So there could never be a more beautiful you”

 

And finally, a fitting end to the music playlist with a video reminding us about the power of music. No matter what size, shape, colour, age or sexual preference, we can all enjoy and benefit from music.

